The grand opposition meet called by the Congress on Monday against the Citizenship Act and the violence that broke out in the country’s central universities like the Jawaharlal Nehru University and Jamia Millia Islamia, received a jolt hours after announcing the meeting when the Bahujan Samaj Party, the Trinamool Congress, the Aam Aadmi Party and the Shiv Sena refused to attend it. The DMK decided to skip the meeting in response to the decision of the above-mentioned parties.

The Shiv Sena, which formed the Maharashtra government with the support of the Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party said it did not receive any invitation from the grand old party, hence it won’t be attending the meeting. The AAP declared that it won’t be part of Opposition meet to review the political situation in the country.

The BSP cited differences of opinion with the Congress when asked why it was not attending the meeting.

Also Read: Mamata Banerjee meets PM Narendra Modi, asks for rethink on Citizenship Amendment Act

Also Read: Smriti Irani slams Deepika Padukone, says she knew about the actor’s support to Congress in 2011, calls her supporter of tukde tukde gang

In a tweet, Mayawati raised concerns over its equations with the Congress, saying despite her party extending outside support to the Ashok Gehlot-led government in Rajasthan, the party was influencing BSP MLAs to leave the Mayawati-led party.

She said it would be unfaithful to the people of Rajasthan if BSP attended the meeting called by the Congress.

Mayawati maintained that her party was against both the CAA and the NRC and appealed to the Centre to withdraw the discriminatory and unconstitutional law. She raised the JNU violence asserting that it was unfortunate to politicise educational institutions.

Last week, Mamata Banerjee had made it clear that she won’t be attending the Congress meet as it accused her party of resorting to dirty politics with regard to Bharat Bandh in Kolkata that triggered violence in several regions.

The parties attending the meet include NCP, DMK, IUML, Left, RJD, SP, AUDF and several others. Former Congress president Rahul Gandhi is also expected to speak in the meeting which will be held at 2 pm today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *