India vs Bangladesh 1st Test at Indore: India have registered their sixth consecutive win in Tests at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore. Virat Kohli-led team defeated Bangladesh by an innings and 130 runs on Saturday, within just three days of the five-day game. All thanks to Mayank Agarwal and bowlers for their impressive performances.

With this win, skipper Virat Kohli achieved another feat, becoming the most successful India captain in terms of most innings victories in the red-ball game. It was India’s 10th win by an innings under the captaincy of Kohli. Earlier, India had won nine such wins under the leadership of MS Dhoni.

India are also topping the ICC World Test Championship, having 300 points. They have played six matches since the beginning of the Test Championship and won all the games. Bangladesh have played one match which they lost. In Indore, India got a massive lead of 343 runs in the first innings. Kohli declared the innings at 493/6 after Mayank Agarwak’s second double-hundred.

India vs Bangladesh 1st Test at Indore: Mayank Agarwal’s double hundred, Mohammad Shami’s 7 wicket performance power India defeat Bangladesh by an inning and 130 runs, India leads 1-0

On the third day, Bangladesh innings collapsed at 213. India bowling attack proved fatal for the visitors. Mohammed Shami, who took three wickets in the first innings, dismissed four Bangladeshi players. Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma picked up two and one wickets, respectively. Ravichandran Ashwin also played his role, taking three wickets.

Mushfiqur Rahim was the lone Bangladeshi player to stay at the crease for several hours. He scored 64 runs off 150 balls. The top-order comprising Shadman Islam, Imrul Kayes, and Mominul Haque scored just 19 runs. Agarwal was named man of the match for his double-hundred. Karnataka-born batsman’s 200-plus came just weeks after scoring his maiden double ton against South Africa. 

Both the teams are set to play their first-ever day-night Test, starting from November 22 at the Eden Gardens. Many legendary players including Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, etc are expected to witness the match. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *