India opener Rohit Sharma has been named as the the ICC ODI cricketer of the year after some spectacular performence throughout the year. The explosive Indian batsman smashed 7 centuries in the last year, in which five hundred came in the World Cup. The Mumbai batsman was in marvelous form throughout the showpiece tournament.

On the other hand, India skipper Virat Kohli bagged the spirit of cricket award. The Indian captain won the ODI cricketer of the year award in the last two years but walked away with prestigious Spirit of Cricket award for his supportive gesture to Steven Smith, when he told fans to stop booing the Australian batsman at the Oval during aWorld Cup match.

Apart from that, Deepak Chahar earned the ICC best T20I performence award for his extra-ordinary bowling figure of 6/7 against Bangladesh in November.

ALSO READ: Jasprit Bumrah, Poonam Yadav claims top BCCI honors, Cheteshwar Pujara set to bag Dilip Sardesai award, Mayank Agarwal wins best international debut

England cricketer Ben Stokes has been named the ICC cricketer of the year award. The England all-rounder has an incredible year on the field, from winning the World Cup to playing on of the best Test inning ever against Australia in the Ashes. The New Zealand-born left-hander deserved the most prestigious ICC award indeed.

Australian pacer Pat Cummins won the Test cricketer of the year award. The Aussie picked up 59 Test wickets in 2019 which is 14 more that any other bowler. Marnus Labuschagne, another Aussie walked away with an ICC award, which is ICC Men’s emerging cricketer of the year. The young right-hander has come up from nowhere and blew up everyne’s mind with stunning average of 64.94 in red-ball cricket, simply amazing.

ALSO READ: Fans slam BCCI selectors for dropping Sanju Samson from India’s T20I squad for New Zealand tour

India vs Australia ODI series: Ricky Ponting says Aaron Finch-led side will beat Virat Kohli and Co

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *