Its the start of the year 2020 and every cricket fan is waiting for the ICC T20 World Cup that will be played in Australia later this year. The teams participating in the tournament have started their grind. With the ongoing preparations, the cricket fraternity is busy in making their playing XI for different teams out there.

Indian cricket team started the year 2020 with a thumping victory against Sri Lanka on January 7. The team management is still busy in figuring out best players for the mega tournament even after doing so many experiments. Recently, former Indian batsman VVS Laxman announced India’s squad for the 2020 ICC T20 World Cup. Speaking to the Star Sports, VVS Laxman skipped some of the big names in his squad.

ALSO READ: IPL 2020: Matches likely to start from 7:30 pm, final on May 24

The former Indian batsman left out Shikhar Dhawan and Mahendra Singh Dhoni from the Indian squad. Shikhar Dhawan, who was left out from the team because of his continuous poor show made his comeback in the T20I series against Sri Lanka. However, the left hander opener couldn’t make it to Laxman’s sqaud for the upcoming World Cup. MS Dhoni has also been skipped from the squad, Laxman gave Rishabh Pant a slot for the wicket-keeper batsman replacing MS Dhoni in the squad.

Here is Laxman’s squad for the ICC T20 World Cup:

  • Virat Kohli (c)
  • Rohit Sharma
  • KL Rahul
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Rishabh Pant (wk)
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Shivam Dube
  • Manish Pandey
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Deepak Chahar
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar

ALSO READ: Hardik Pandya on taking up finisher’s role in T20 World Cup: Will never be able to fill MS Dhoni’s shoes

VVS Laxman has also included Manish Pandey and Shivam Dube in the squad going with extra batsman and the allrounder. The squad looks decently strong on paper, but the selectors would definitely go with MS Dhoni if he makes himself available for the selection.

The official announcement of the Indian squad might be take place after the Indian Premier League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *