Jasprit Bumrah, Poonam Yadav set to bag top BCCI awards: Jasprit Bumrah and Poonam Yadav are set to receive the BCCI awards today for their exceptional performance in the year 2018-19. Several other cricketers have been named in different categories including Cheteshwar Pujara, Mayank Agarwal, Shivam Dube and Shafali Verma. The BCCI will hold the function in Mumbai on Sunday.

Polly Umrigar Award

Bumrah has been named the best international cricketer. He will be given the prestigious Polly Umrigar Award for his performance in the past season. With this award, he broke Virat Kohli’s four-year winning streak.

In the women’s category, spinner Poonam Yadav has been named the best international cricketer. The 28-year-old bowler had also received the Arjuna Award. President Ram Nath Kovind had conferred Agra-born cricketer with the award last year.

Dilip Sardesai award

Cheteshwar Pujara, who made his Test debut in 2010 against Australia, will be given Dilip Sardesai award for scoring most runs in the longest format games during the 2018-19 period. The right-handed batsman amassed 677 runs in just eight Test games with an average of 52.07. The 31-year-old-cricketer has played 75 Tests. He has scored 5740 runs coupled with 18 tons, three double centuries and 24 half-centuries.

Also read: India vs Sri Lanka: Shikhar Dhawan says team wants to win regularly while batting first

Best international debut award

Mayank Agarwal has been named the recipient of the best international debut award. He has amassed 872 runs in just nine Test matches with an average of 67.07. He has scored three tons, two double tons and three fifties. While in the women’s category, Shafali Verma will receive the best international debut award. She has scored 222 runs in nine T20Is.

Lala Amarnath Award

Shivam Dube has been adjudged the best all-rounder in the Ranji Trophy. Playing for Mumbai CA, Dube has made 632 runs in eight games, scoring two tons and three half-centuries. Meanwhile, the 26-year-old batting all-rounder made his ODI debut in December 2019 against West Indies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *